Over 800 episodes of classic “Doctor Who” are coming to BBC iPlayer in the UK on Wednesday November 1st, and in celebration they’ve announced details of new material planned to coincide with the launch.

All the classic episodes will sit in a hub under the name of ‘The Whoniverse’ and will offer plenty of exclusive content. The first of these will be “Tales of the TARDIS,” a six-part series reuniting classic Doctor Who duos from all eras.

These pairs “board an extra special TARDIS on a nostalgic voyage through space and time”. The duos will step back into their loved characters, will reflect on their adventures and feature in new scenes woven together with classic episodes.

This allows these familiar characters to tie up loose ends and ultimately create a feature-length omnibus episode. The pairs across the series include:

– Maureen O’Brien and Peter Purves as First Doctor companions Vicki and Steven.
– Frazer Hines and Wendy Padbury as Second Doctor companions Jamie and Zoe.
– Katy Manning as Third Doctor companion Jo Grant and Daniel Anthony as “Sarah Jane Adventures” character Clyde Langer.
– Peter Davison as the Fifth Doctor and Janet Fielding as Tegan.
– Colin Baker as the Sixth Doctor and Nicola Bryant as Peri.
– Sylvester McCoy as the Seventh Doctor and Sophie Aldred as Ace.

Russell T. Davies, who is serving as showrunner for the upcoming 60th anniversary specials and the subsequent series starring Ncuti Gatwa as the Fifteenth Doctor, says:

“The word Whoniverse was invented by fans, so it’s time to give it official status. And TALES OF THE TARDIS is one of the greatest delights of my career – to see old Doctors and companions reunited, still fighting the good fight, is a perfect way to celebrate the Doctor’s 60th birthday!”

Check out publicity photos of the six pairings below.

Source: Radio Times

The post BBC Announces “Tales of the TARDIS” appeared first on Dark Horizons.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.