The 2023 Emmy Awards, delayed from last Fall to tonight, have come to a close with FX’s “The Bear” and Netflix’s “Beef” taking the most honors, even as HBO won the most overall awards.

“Succession” dominated the drama awards with three wins tonight, “The Bear” swept the comedy awards with six honors tonight, and “Beef” took five wins tonight in the limited series/telemovie categories.

In fact it’s quicker to name the few outside of those three that didn’t win with Quinta Brunson in “Abbott Elementary,” Paul Walter Hauser in “Black Bird,” Niecy Nash-Betts in “Monster” and Jennifer Coolidge in “The White Lotus” taking four of the twelve acting honors awarded.

“The Last of Us,” “Andor,” “Barry,” “Ted Lasso,” “Welcome To Wrexham,” “Poker Face,” “Wednesday,” “Better Call Saul,” “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “Only Murders in the Building,” “The Diplomat,” “The Old Man,” and more all walked away empty-handed tonight.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Best Drama Series
WINNER: “Succession” (HBO)
“Andor” (Disney+)
“Better Call Saul” (AMC)
“The Crown” (Netflix)
“House of the Dragon” (HBO)
“The Last of Us” (HBO)
“The White Lotus” (HBO)
“Yellowjackets” (Showtime)

Best Comedy Series
WINNER: “The Bear” (FX)
“Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
“Barry” (HBO)
“Jury Duty” (Amazon Freevee)
“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Prime Video)
“Only Murders in the Building” (Hulu)
“Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
“Wednesday” (Netflix)

Best Limited Series
WINNER: “Beef” (Netflix)
“Dahmer – Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story” (Netflix)
“Daisy Jones & the Six” (Prime Video)
“Fleishman Is In Trouble” (Hulu)
“Obi-Wan Kenobi” (Disney+)

Best Actress, Comedy
WINNER: Quinta Brunson, “Abbott Elementary”
Christina Applegate, “Dead to Me”
Rachel Brosnahan, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”
Natasha Lyonne, “Poker Face”
Jenna Ortega, “Wednesday”

Best Actor, Comedy
WINNER: Jeremy Allen White, “The Bear”
Bill Hader, “Barry”
Jason Segel, “Shrinking”
Martin Short, “Only Murders in the Building”
Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”

Best Actress, Drama
WINNER: Sarah Snook, “Succession”
Sharon Horgan, “Bad Sisters”
Melanie Lynskey, “Yellowjackets”
Elisabeth Moss, “The Handmaid’s Tale”
Bella Ramsey, “The Last of Us”
Keri Russell, “The Diplomat”

Best Actor, Drama
WINNER: Kieran Culkin, “Succession”
Jeff Bridges, “The Old Man”
Brian Cox, “Succession”
Bob Odenkirk, “Better Call Saul”
Pedro Pascal, “The Last of Us”
Jeremy Strong, “Succession”

Best Actress, Limited Series or TV Movie
WINNER: Ali Wong, “Beef”
Jessica Chastain, “George & Tammy”
Lizzy Caplan, “Fleishman Is In Trouble”
Dominique Fishback, “Swarm”
Kathryn Hahn, “Tiny Beautiful Things”
Riley Keough, “Daisy Jones & the Six”

Best Actor, Limited Series or TV Movie
WINNER: Steven Yeun, “Beef”
Taron Egerton, “Black Bird”
Kumail Nanjiani, “Welcome to Chippendales”
Evan Peters, “Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story”
Daniel Radcliffe, “Weird: The Al Yankovic Story”
Michael Shannon, “George & Tammy”

Best Supporting Actress, Comedy
WINNER: Ayo Edebiri, “The Bear”
Alex Borstein, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”
Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary”
Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary”
Juno Temple, “Ted Lasso”
Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso”
Jessica Williams, “Shrinking”

Best Supporting Actor, Comedy
WINNER: Ebon Moss-Bachrach, “The Bear”
Anthony Carrigan, “Barry”
Phil Dunster, “Ted Lasso”
Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”
James Marsden, “Jury Duty”
Tyler James Williams, “Abbott Elementary”
Henry Winkler, “Barry”

Best Supporting Actress, Drama
WINNER: Jennifer Coolidge, “The White Lotus”
Elizabeth Debicki, “The Crown”
Meghann Fahy, “The White Lotus”
Sabrina Impacciatore, “The White Lotus”
Aubrey Plaza, “The White Lotus”
Rhea Seehorn, “Better Call Saul”
J. Smith-Cameron, “Succession”
Simona Tabasco, “The White Lotus”

Best Supporting Actor, Drama
WINNER: Matthew Macfadyen, “Succession”
F. Murray Abraham, “The White Lotus”
Nicholas Braun, “Succession”
Michael Imperioli, “The White Lotus”
Theo James, “The White Lotus”
Alan Ruck, “Succession”
Will Sharpe, “The White Lotus”
Alexander Skarsgård, “Succession”

Best Supporting Actress, Limited Series or a Movie
WINNER: Niecy Nash-Betts, “Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story”
Annaleigh Ashford, “Welcome to Chippendales”
Maria Bello, “Beef”
Claire Danes, “Fleishman Is In Trouble”
Juliette Lewis, “Welcome to Chippendales”
Camila Morrone, “Daisy Jones & The Six”
Merritt Wever, “Tiny Beautiful Things”

Best Supporting Actor, Limited Series or Movie
WINNER: Paul Walter Hauser, “Black Bird”
Murray Bartlett, “Welcome to Chippendales”
Richard Jenkins, “Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story”
Ray Liotta, “Black Bird”
Young Mazino, “Beef”
Jesse Plemons, “Love & Death”

Best Variety Talk Series
WINNER: “The Daily Show with Trevor Noah” (Comedy Central)
“Jimmy Kimmel Live!” (ABC)
“Late Night with Seth Meyers” (NBC)
“The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” (CBS)
“The Problem With Jon Stewart” (Apple TV+)

Best Reality Competition Program
WINNER: “RuPaul’s Drag Race” (MTV)
“The Amazing Race” (CBS)
“Survivor” (CBS)
“Top Chef” (Bravo)
“The Voice” (NBC)

Best Writing for a Comedy Series
WINNER: Christopher Storer, “The Bear” (“System”)
Bill Hader, “Barry” (“wow”)
Mekki Leeper, “Jury Duty” (“Ineffective Assistance”)
John Hoffman, Matteo Borghese, Rob Turbovsky, “Only Murders in the Building” (“I Know Who Did It”)
Chris Kelly, Sarah Schneider, “The Other Two” (“Cary & Brooke Go to an AIDS Play”)
Brendan Hunt, Joe Kelly, Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso” (“So Long, Farewell”)

Best Writing for a Drama Series
WINNER: Jesse Armstrong, “Succession” (“Connor’s Wedding”)
Beau Willimon, “Andor” (“One Way Out”)
Sharon Horgan, Dave Finkel, Brett Baer, “Bad Sisters” (“The Prick”)
Gordon Smith, “Better Call Saul” (“Point and Shoot”)
Peter Gould, “Better Call Saul” (“Saul Gone”)
Craig Mazin, “The Last of Us” (“Long, Long Time”)
Mike White, “The White Lotus” (“Arrivederci”)

Best Writing for a Limited Series, Movie or Drama Special
WINNER: Lee Sung Jin, “Beef” (“The Birds Don’t Sing, They Screech in Pain”)
Joel Kim Booster, “Fire Island”
Taffy Brodesser-Akner, “Fleishman Is In Trouble” (“Me-Time”)
Patrick Aison, Dan Trachtenberg, “Prey”
Janine Nabers, Donald Glover, “Swarm” (“Stung”)
Al Yankovic, Eric Appel, “Weird: The Al Yankovic Story”

Best Directing for a Comedy Series, Movie or Drama Special
WINNER: Christopher Storer, “The Bear” (“Review”)
Mary Lou Belli, “The Ms. Pat Show” (“Don’t Touch My Hair”)
Tim Burton, “Wednesday” (“Wednesday’s Child is Full of Woe”)
Bill Hader, “Barry” (“wow”)
Declan Lowney, “Ted Lasso” (“So Long, Farewell”)
Amy Sherman-Palladino, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (“Four Minutes”)

Best Directing for a Drama Series
WINNER: Mark Mylod, “Succession” (“Connor’s Wedding”)
Benjamin Caron, “Andor” (“Rix Road”)
Peter Hoar, “The Last of Us” (“Long, Long Time”)
Andrij Parekh, “Succession” (“America Decides”)
Lorene Scafaria, “Succession” (“Living+”)
Dearbhla Walsh, “Bad Sisters” (“The Prick”)
Mike White, “The White Lotus” (“Arrivederci”)

Best Directing for a Limited Series
WINNER: Lee Sung Jin, “Beef” (“Figure of Light”)
Paris Barclay, “Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story” (“Silenced”)
Valerie Faris, Jonathan Dayton, “Fleishman Is In Trouble” (“Me-Time”)
Carl Franklin, “Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story” (“Bad Meat”)
Jake Schreier, “Beef” (“The Great Fabricator”)
Dan Trachtenberg, “Prey”

The post “Beef,” “Bear” Dominate 2023 Emmy Awards appeared first on Dark Horizons.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.